Posts Tagged ‘mary balogh’

Mary Balogh’s favourite kissing scene

9780349405346

We are honoured to welcome this afternoon’s guest to Regency Week: international bestseller Mary Balogh, author of over 60 novels and one of the biggest names in Historical romance today.

We asked Mary to choose, out of all of her books, her very favourite kiss scene! With over 30 years of writing behind her, it’s a big call to make . . . Read on to find out what she chose!

I’d like to choose the kiss that gave my newest book, Only a Kiss, its title.

Percy, Earl of Hardford, has come at last to the estate in Cornwall he inherited two years ago, only to find Imogen, Lady Barclay, his predecessor’s widowed daughter-in-law, in residence because the roof is off the dower house, where she usually lives. Imogen is not Percy’s type at all. He thinks of her as the marble lady. And he is not her type – he is altogether too flippant, too irresponsible. They quarrel in the library one night over who should pay for the repairs to her roof – each insists upon doing it. She is very close and very angry when she tells him he is no gentleman. But instead of defending himself, he curls one hand about the back of her neck and kisses her.

“He did not need even the fraction of one second to know that he had made a big mistake . . .  She broke off the kiss after perhaps two seconds and cracked him across one cheek with an open palm . . . His cheek stung and his eye watered . . . ‘How dare you,’ she cried . . . He owed her a groveling apology – at the very least. ‘It was only a kiss,’ he said instead.”

And Percy muses a little later when he is alone that if that kiss had lasted for two seconds, then for at least one of them she had kissed him back.

To find out more about Mary Balogh, visit her website or follow her on Facebook.

 

Buy a copy of Only a Kiss here:

Waterstones

Amazon

iBooks

Kindle

Kobo

 

Happy publication day Christine King!

We are excited to finally welcome the 2013 Entice Writing Competition winner Christine King to Piatkus! Her regency romance debut, The Blade and the Dove, is filled with secrets, danger and ferocious passion.

Trapped she may be, tamed she is not . . .

Lady Elinor, the ethereally beautiful wife of Sir Lucien Reveley, is lusted after by many but known by no one. Famously cold and unfeeling, she is regarded by the gossiping Ton with curiosity. Yet beneath her seeming serenity hides a desperate woman – married to a man whose public persona belies the sadistic, sensual monster within.

Finally pushed to breaking point, Elinor flees, desperate to escape the increasingly debauched demands of her husband. Living a modest life in hiding, Elinor keeps herself safe, but when she meets a man who sees beneath her reserve, a man who makes her tremble for his touch, the secrets of her past threaten to destroy her fragile peace . . .

 
Perfect for fans of Stephanie Laurens, Mary Balogh or Elizabeth Hoyt, Christine King is a stunning new voice in historical romance!